Last update 23.3.2017

The project proceeds in two phases

The metro in the Helsinki metropolitan area will be extended to the west in two phases. In the first phase, there will be eight new stations, and five more will be included in the second phase. The metro will operate on a rail line of 21 kilometres underground in two parallel tunnels.

The west metro will include thirteen new stations. The stations along the 14-kilometre Ruoholahti–Matinkylä section will be located in Lauttasaari and Koivusaari in Helsinki, and in Keilaniemi, Otaniemi, Tapiola, Urheilupuisto, Niittykumpu and Matinkylä in Espoo. The seven-kilometre Matinkylä–Kivenlahti section of the rail line will be completed in the second phase, and it will include five new stations: Finnoo, Kaitaa, Soukka, Espoonlahti and Kivenlahti. An underground metro depot will be constructed in Sammalvuori.

In addition to the stations, a total of 23 shafts will be built for pressure equalisation, ventilation and smoke extraction. The shafts will also be used as emergency exits.

The west metro in figures

  • 14 + 7 kilometres
  • 2 parallel tunnels
  • 8 + 5 new stations
  • 12 + 6 access tunnels
  • 15 + 8 exit shafts
  • 170,000 passengers every day
  • 3,050 park-and-ride spaces
  • 4,100 bicycle parking spaces
  • The final cost estimate of the Ruoholahti–Matinkylä section is EUR 1,186 million
  • The cost estimate of the Matinkylä–Kivenlahti section is EUR 801 million (at the price level of November 2013)
  • Employs hundreds of designers and thousands of construction workers, and indirectly thousands of subcontractors